Macross Frontier ep 1

The first thing you’ll notice is the OP. FANTASTIC OP by dear Sakamoto Maaya, of whom I’m nearly a fangirl of. It marks the first collaboration between Sakamoto Maaya and her mentor Yoko Kanno in about half a decade (if my memory serves me right) It’s catchy, upbeat, with good singing.

The ED is also amazing. The animation is rather boring, but the song is awesome.

The second thing that I noticed was the hot main guy. 8D [/teenage hormones] He’s called Alto, and, despite looking quite a lot like Kanda Yuu (who I hate.) of D.Gray-man, has a completely different and much, much sweeter personality. Despite being standoffish and aloof he actually has a soft side, unlike Kanda. He has a cute personality and is really, really pretty (to the extent of Mikhail calling him Princess Alto) and has long hair, so he basically fits all my criteria for fangirleable boys. His voice actor is apparently the same one as Graham Aker (Gundam 00), although I never paid too much attention to Graham’s voice (because I’m too busy laughing at his grandiose and wrong-implication words) so I couldn’t really tell.

The animation is pretty good, especially the outer space ones. The art is also very pleasing and likable, in a sort of Code-Geass-meets-Kure-nai sort of style. (in my warped opinion) Nobody looks identical to each other, which is good. The music of course is wonderful. The SFX is not bad too.

The storyline seems to have potential, if a little boring right now. However since this is only the first episode I guess I can’t really tell. Characters are good, especially Ranka and Alto. They feel natural and real, and are pleasing and likable. They don’t go OOC, and dialogue is believable and realistic.

There are also many seiyuus that I know/like. Kamiya Hiroshi, whom I have fallen deeply in love with since watching Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, voices Mikhail, whom I think is extremely adorable, especially his seme tendencies and his confidance and assurance. [cue giggles] Although Kamiya sensei’s voice doesn’t seem to fit Mikhail at first thought (seme? assured? manly? compare to Itoshiki Nozomu and Tieria Erde D: ) but he has a really smooth manly voice so I love it anyway. Apparently Tanaka Rie of Lacus Clyne and Chii fame also voices a character. Fukuyama Jun (Lulu) voices Luca, but he sounds…. unmemorable and boring. Kawashima Houko has 2 roles, and Toyoguchi Megumi has one too. Dear Katsuyuki Konishi (Agatsuma Soubi, Johann Trinity) has a role too.

I’m pleasantly surprised by this series. I thought I would like it, but didn’t expect to like it this much. It’s pretty good and enjoyable.

Ratings:
Overall: 9/10
Art: 9/10
Animation: 8/10
OP/ED: 10/10
Music: 9/10
Voice acting: 9/10
Story/Plot: 8/10
Flow: 9/10
Characters: 9/10

Merits: Almost everything.
Demerits: Mecha animation seems overtly 3Dish sometimes.

~ by Someone in the Universe on April 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
