The horrors of Vampire Knight

Goodness, I don’t know why I’m even watching this. Maybe it’s because I want to keep myself occupied while waiting for Shoku-Dan’s Kure-nai and further Loveless chapters to be out.

I don’t know what to say. :B I hated the manga – terrible angles, I disliked the art style, found the characters boring and uninteresting, plot succumbed to so many shoujo/vampire cliches. Gosh.

The anime benefits a lot from the sound and colour though.

The animation frankly kind of sucks, the characters are slightly jerky and movements sometimes unnatural, even I (who am one of the kindest critics in the world) can notice that. But it’s done by Studio DEEN, notorious cheapskates, so what do you expect? Some stuff from them, like Rurouni Kenshin and Princess Princess, were good, but ohwells :/

Anyway. OP and ED rock, however accompanying animation, especially for OP, is nothing to look at at all. Boring concept, boring idea, boring scenes.

Art itself is not bad. Their angles are far better than the manga at least. The eyes are done in a beautifully painterly style, but the art overall is only nice but not otherwise outstanding. They colour in the lines, so that there are no definitive darker colour lines around the characters hair, let’s say. This really doesn’t work for me, and I find it gross. But each to their own.

Sound is not bad too. However there are quite a few instances where creepy music is playing but the scene itself is comedic, spoiling the entire damn atmosphere.

Voice acting is… in my opinion, not very suitable. Miyano Mamoru proves that his standard fluctuates a lot, going from horrendous as Yagami Raito to amazing as Setsuna F Seiei to mediocre as Zero. Kaname’s voice, in my opinion, totally does not fit his ultimate-seme image. Yuuki sounds like a complete airhead, and her voice reeeeeally pisses me off sometimes. The only good one is Hanabusa Aidou, whose voice fits him beautifully. In fact, he’s the only character I don’t dislike/am indifferent to in Vknight. He’s cute in this really retarded/frivolous way.

Story is, as of now, has potential, like what I saw at the start of the manga. But seeing how faithfully it’s following the manga right now, no doubt it will succumb to all the cliches. Like, girl-crushes-guy-to-find-out-later-she-is-engaged-to-him, girl-crushes-guy-to-find-that-he-is-her-brother, girl-crushes-guy-of-unattainable-status-to-find-that-she-is-also-high-up, girl’s-best-male-friend-is-hiding-secret, girl’s-best-male-friend-is-in-love-with-her, etcetc. Gosh.

This essentially seems like another attempt to attract fangirls with the bunch of hot guys (what hot guys? I don’t find them remotely hot at all. Seriously.) except that Vknight really doesn’t have the appeal of Ouran High School Host Club. Nor the humour. Nor the likable characters.

However I HAVE only seen 3 eps. So I don’t know. I hope it gets better. But currently nothing about it interests me :/

Ratings:
Overall: 7/10
Art: 8/10
Animation: 6/10
OP/ED: 8/10
Music: 8/10
Voice acting: 7/10
Story/Plot: 6/10
Flow: 8/10
Characters: 7/10

Merits: Good OP/ED song, relatively likable art style. Flow is nicely done; although tension isn’t really built up, it doesn’t rush confusingly into the story, but does get a little uninteresting at times.
Demerits: practically everything else, but especially the disgusting suggestiveness and panting. It obviously targets the despotic girls who have sexual fantasies about anime guys, or something along those lines. And they don’t interest me at all – I just wince and sigh at them.

~ by Someone in the Universe on April 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
